Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Governor-elect Terry McAuliffe announces transition team

RICHMOND- Virginia Governor-elect Terry McAuliffe announced his transition and inaugural leadership and staff today in a press conference held at the State Capitol in Richmond.

“I am thrilled to announce the first members of a talented and dedicated team who will help me build an administration that brings people together to create jobs, improve education and move this Commonwealth forward,” said Governor-elect McAuliffe. “I am confident that this bipartisan group will make this transition a smooth one and ensure that we are ready to meet the challenges and seize the opportunities the next four years will bring.”

Transition Committee:

Delegate Jennifer McClellan, Transition Committee Chair

McClellan has served as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates since 2006, and represents Virginia’s 71st district, including parts of the city of Richmond and Henrico County.

Former State Senator John Chichester, Transition Committee Co-Chair

Chichester is the former President Pro Tempore of the Senate of Virginia, where he represented the 28th district from 1978 to 2007.

Former Secretary of Transportation Whitt Clement, Transition Committee Co-Chair

Clement served as the Virginia Secretary of Transportation from 2002-2005 and a member of the Virginia House of Delegates from 1988-2002.

Nancy Rodrigues, Transition Committee Co-Chair

Rodrigues formerly served as the Secretary of the Virginia State Board of Elections and is the current CEO of Opening Doors to Government, Business and Growth.

Transition Staff:

Paul Reagan, Transition Director

Reagan is the former Chief of Staff to U.S. Senator Jim Webb and the former Communications Director to Governor Mark Warner. He has taken a leave of absence from his position as a Senior Advisor at McGuire-Woods Consulting LLC to lead the McAuliffe transition staff.

Bill Murray, Transition Policy Director

Murray served as Legislative Director for Governor Tim Kaine and Deputy Director of Policy for Governor Mark Warner. He has taken a leave of absence from his position as Managing Director, Public Policy and Senior Advisor for State and Local Government Affairs at Dominion Resources Services, Inc.

Brian Coy, Communications Director

Coy has taken a leave of absence from his position at the Democratic Party of Virginia where he served as an adviser to numerous campaigns, including McAuliffe for Governor, Tim Kaine for U.S. Senate and Barack Obama’s reelection effort.

Inaugural Committee:

John and Renee Grisham, Inaugural Committee Co-Chairs

Grisham is a best-selling author, lawyer, and former member of the Mississippi House of Representatives.  John and Renee live in Albemarle County.

Richmond Mayor Dwight Jones, Inaugural Committee Co-Chair

Jones has served as Mayor of Richmond since January 2009. Previously, Jones served as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates, representing the 70th district from 1994 to 2008.

Brynne Craig, Executive Director, Inaugural Committee

Craig served as Political Director for McAuliffe’s gubernatorial campaign and previously served as National Field Director at the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee.

Posted By Valerie Garner

Categories: Election 2013, Elections, Politics, State Politics

Tags: , , ,


No Comments

Comments are not moderated. Notify any abuse at put ABUSE in the subject and the offensive post.

Leave a Reply