Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Wide margin wins for Virginia’s 17th, 11th and 8th districts – Sheriff & Commissioner race tight – video

Bill Cleaveland (R-17) and Morgan Griffith (R-8) in Victory

Bill Cleaveland (R-17) and Morgan Griffith (R-8) in Victory

Republican incumbent 8th District Delegate and Majority Leader Morgan Griffith handily won reelection Tuesday with 69% of the vote. He was challenged by Democrat Carter Turner.

Griffith in his victory speech said of those who didn’t vote for him to “come and sit down and talk … if we disagree we can at least be friends.” Griffith’s remarks were short as he conceded that the night belonged to Bill Cleaveland who won retiring Delegate William Fralin’s seat in the 17th district. Cleaveland won over his Democratic opponent and Roanoke City Council member Gwen Mason with 62% of the vote.

Cleaveland, a Botetourt County attorney expressed his deep appreciation of his ill wife who could not be with him. He also expressed appreciation of retiring Delegate Fralin whose gantlet he intends to grasp.

Later Cleaveland credited his victory to national issues saying, “people feel like their voices are not being heard.” He intends to follow Fralin in making sure “our sovereignty is secure … some things that are going on in Washington we need to brace ourselves for.” Cleaveland said the 5-way primary helped him hone and articulate his message. Mike Wray, Chris Head and Melvin Williams three of Cleaveland’s primary opponents were there to celebrate with Cleaveland.

Cleaveland said that being new to the job he “doesn’t plan to be reckless … I want to hear both sides and I mean both sides – I want to hear it all.”

When asked if he considered his campaign execution effective Cleaveland replied that he had people come up to him and say they voted for him because of the positive way he ran his campaign. “We ran it on the issues and let the other candidate do whatever they were going to do,” said Cleaveland.

Incumbent Republican Sheriff Octavia Johnson won with 141 votes over her Democratic opponent Frank Garrett. Independent Brian Keenum was a distant third.

Republican challenger for the Commissioner of Revenue Douglas Walker came up 361 votes short of beating incumbent Democrat Sherman Holland.

Incumbent Delegate Onzlee Ware in the 11th district overcame his Republican challenger Troy Bird with 60% of the vote.

Posted By Valerie Garner

Categories: Election 2009, Politics, State Politics

Tags: , , , ,


No Comments

Comments are not moderated. Notify any abuse at put ABUSE in the subject and the offensive post.

Leave a Reply